October Tunes

October. Goodbye October. What a weird month. As far as 2021 goes, this month just flew past. Melbourne started easing out of lockdown during October. I had dinner and drinks with my best for the first time in over 4 months in October. Got have a dinner with my family, see my cousins all together and catch up with some of the people I missed the most in October, I even got to back to work for the first time since August. There was a lot to do during the last month so please forgive me if this month’s playlist of tracks is a little shorter than we’re used to.

All that said, I have some amazing tracks on this Monthly Tunes, if I do say so myself. Let me know what you think.

Surfin – Muroki: I’ve been loving Muroki so much this year, very pleased I stumbled upon the NZ singer. Not one miss from his as of yet. Just in time for summer too.

Hertz – Amyl and The Sniffers: This song just takes you straight to level 10. Super angsty, super grungy, with plenty of energy. I don’t listen to Amyl and The Sniffers because their music isn’t really my thing but this song alone is all I need.

Maripose – Radiant Children: This song is just so sunny. Groovy and simple but to be honest you don’t need much else.

Altar – Kehlani: I fell in love with this song the second I saw the visuals and the teasers on Ms Kehlani’s Instagram account. When the song and music video were finally released it surpassed all my expectations. I’ve missed music from Kehlani for longer than I assumed I did, so when this song was delivered I was so wholesomely nostalgic.

Seduce – Russ, Capella Grey: TikTok got me with this one. That’s all.

Safety – Becca Hatch: Becca Hatch is phenomenal. She’s a ridiculously underrated Australian singer but I totally reckon she could take off overseas. Specifically the UK. This track in particular really speaks to that, with the fast paced percussion, the beat and the progression of the track. Have a listen.

I must apologise – PinkPanthress: PinkPanthress finally released an album, to hell with it, and this song was teased all over TikTok. I’m very happy she finally has a whole record up for consumption on Spotify.

Love Me – Soli: Another Aussie singer, this time from my city of Melbourne. I feel like anyone who’s clued up on the Melbourne RnB scene would understand me when I say we were all waiting for this. So soulful and artfully delivered, it’s so worth the wait. Soli’s voice is like velvet and the production on this track just pairs so beautifully with her vocals.

Cameras/Good Ones Go Interlude – Drake: A bit of a throwback, but I couldn’t not add it onto this list when I’ve been listening to it as much I have.

Found – Tems, Brent Faiyaz: I’ve really been enjoying Tems during October, and paired with Brent, this may be one of my favourite songs of her. I love the guitar and how beautifully their voices blend together. Duets between a male and female vocalist are always some of my favourite tracks and this one hits the nail on the head.

Right Here – SWV: The MJ sample, the added beat, their beautiful harmonies, I love everything about this track. It’s one of my favourite old school RnB songs and I rediscovered it this month. The intro is enough to completely capture me.

Believe What I Say – Kanye West: I know…a Donda track on my monthly faves?? I’m just as shocked. Trust that it’s the one sampling the queen, Lauryn Hill.

Poppin’ – Chris Brown: The only CB era I accept these days. This entire album is a treasure trove, a masterclass on early 2000s RnB and I love it.

WE GOING CRAZY – DJ Khaled, H.E.R, Migos: We had a great handful of super sunny days during October, easing us into Spring into Melbourne, and I guarantee you, on each of those days, at first sight of the sun, this was one of the first songs I put on. I got my car unit fixed in October too, so after not having a car radio since March, this was the first song I played on the drive home from the mechanics. Hit just right.

Nuthin’ But A “G” Thang – Dr Dre, Snoop Dogg: I watched the Netflix docu-series, ‘The Defiant Ones’ about Interscope Records’ Jimmy Iovine and Dr. Dre, and there was so much music knowledge and history thrown at me every episode, I was in love. Since watching the series I’ve binged all of Dre’s albums, but I kept coming back to The Chronic, and this song in particular. Probably because I heard it so much as a kid and somehow still know so many of the words.

Money Trees – Kendrick Lamar: Kendrick made a small appearance towards the end of the docu-series and they had this track playing in the background. As soon as the episode finished I went and listened to that entire album as well. I also finished reading his biography this month too, so there’s been a fair bit of Kendrick consumption, which I’m not mad about at all.

Replay – Tems: Another Tems track, but y’all I’m just in love with her voice. Again, the guitar, the beat, her voice trumps it all. Her low register just hits you somewhere you don’t often feel with female vocalists, and I love it so much.

Zulu Screams – GoldLick, Bibi Bourelly, Maleek Berry: The Diaspora album owned my soul for the last half of this year. It still does. This song in particular is hands down my favourite. I love the progression, all the different parts of the song, how it’s so rhythmic and percussive yet super melodic and beautiful at the same time. This song never fails to put me in a good mood and get me moving. Here’s hoping clubs open up in Melbourne soon so I can annoy a DJ with this song request.

Law Of Attraction – Dave, Snoh Aalegra: I never listened to Dave before I heard this song. It was during one of the first dinner’s out of lockdown, hanging out with my cousins, going for a drive all together and two of my cousins demanded this song was played on the AUX. I fell in love with it straight away, partially cos of Snoh, but when I got home I listened to the entire album.

That’s it for October my friends. I hope you liked reading through my rambling. It’s been a tough few months, but hopefully things will start looking up soon. Hope you’re all well, I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

x

Priya

PS:
Feel free to follow me on my social media!
Instagram: YouShouldHear
Twitter: YouShouldHear
Instagram: priya_francis (personal)
Spotify: priyafrancis

Leave a comment