December Tunes

Hello and welcome to the last Monthly Tunes wrap up for 2021. I know, I know, bit rich of me to say that considering I was absent for majority of 2021 but here we are. Are we two weeks into 2022 already? Yes. Am I still gonna share this post? Also yes.

I’m gonna preface this by saying you’re gonna hear me repeat myself a hell of a lot on this post. A lot of these tracks are pulled from a) TikTok, b) my cousins, who I was seeing a lot of last month or c) the work playlist that I listened to for over 30 hours a week. Make of that what you will but I still reckon they’re all bops.

I Hate U – SZA: I’ll be brutally honest. The rest of this song does not live up to the hype it built on TikTok when Miss SZA shared a snippet. Do I still blast this song for that one specific line? Yes.

Warm December – Sabrina Claudio: This song made me feel so toasty during December. For those of y’all who don’t know, I’m from Australia, and besides the obvious metaphor in this track, the idea of a warm December just sits so comfortably with the reality we have over here of a summer Christmas, that I love this song so much. Plus, I mean, it’s Sabrina Claudio. What else do you need?

Raindrops – GoldLink, Flo Milli: This song was a favourite last month. I played it on repeat, honest to God. There’s just something about Flo Milli’s voice on this track and the overall production. GoldLink snuck is way to the top of my list of favourite artists in 2021.

Flowers (Say My Name) – ArrDee: One of my cousins queued this song when he was shotgun in the car and we all lost it when it really got into it. Such a bop in the car.

The Machine – Oliver Malcom: This track is one of the tunes that feature on the playlist at work, and considering I now work full-time, I was hearing it a lot last month. I wasn’t 100% sure of it when I first heard it, but eventually I just had to Shazaam it and add it to my playlist because at this point I know the words by heart and get a little bit chipper when it comes over the speakers.

Neon Peach – Snoh Aalegra, Tyler, The Creator: I thoroughly enjoyed this entire album from Snoh Aalegra, but this one is hands down my favourite. Tyler’s production on this track is sublime and the bounce just hits you in the chest. Obviously Snoh just swims with this track and the velvety smooth vocals just contrast so well with how snappy and heavy the music is.

Weekend Run – Unknown Mortal Orchestra: Another track that’s brought to you by my work playlist. Another song that just raises my spirits every time it plays. It’s so beautiful and gentle, and the chorus works so perfectly with the rest of the music. It’s super catchy and gets stuck in my head, hours after the playlist has progressed. Most of my coworkers have caught on to the fact that I know the words by heart at this stage.

Party Round My Place – Aitch, Avelino, Toddla T: Again, another track my cousin showed me while he was charge of the AUX and I really had to swallow my ego and ask him to add it to my playlist.

Righteous Minds – Joey Bada$$: This song is so rich and full of character. Every time I listen I find something new to love, especially with how smart and intricate the lyrics are. I don’t listen to much Joey Bada$$ at all, but this track has been enough to get me started.

It’s On Again – Alicia Keys, Kendrick Lamar: I know this song isn’t from the recent Spider-Man movie that came out, but watching the latest release was enough to remind me of this song. Kendrick and Alicia? Yes please.

Cold Heart – Elton John, Dua Lipa, PNAU: Believe it or not, my uncle showed my cousins and I this song. It was request on Christmas Day and it just raised the spirits all over the house. Got everyone grooving wherever they were and we’re all obsessed with it.

Oh My God – Adele: This is one of my favourite tracks from this entire album. The album itself is insane, like Miss Adele came through with another work of art, but I wasn’t expected bops like this. The beep is so deep and heavy, but the vocals are super shimmery and light. I’m also obsessed with the little flute sound that swims around the track.

Outlandish – dvsn: There was a moment of unity when all of us who previously knew this track awoke from our work-day daze when this track came over the speaker. Never would have guessed I’d be hearing this song over the speakers but it was so cute seeing a bunch of us singing along and vibing as we got on with out work.

Hit This – Ebhoni: Again, a track that really stuck out to me at work during the day. It took me a couple of listens to get around it, but now I’m in love.

SWERVE – KSI, JAY1: More work tracks!!! KSI?? At work?? I had no idea that KSI made music, all I know of him I know from YouTube and my younger cousins, so when the result showed up on Shazaam during my break I was thoroughly shocked. It’s such a bop, I can’t help but boogie a little bit.

Roll Some Mo – Lucky Daye: Ahh, Lucky Daye. I think he was another artist who wormed his way into my heart during 2021 and during December it was this track. I’m in love with Lucky Daye’s voice. He’s got one of the richest voices of this generation in my opinion and he’s criminally underrated.

Real Groove – Kylie Minogue, Dua Lipa: I know. I’m just as surprised. Dua Lipa and Kylie Minogue? You couldn’t predict it. There was a call over the headsets by a friend at work to see if anyone knew the song, and I was the first one to Shazaam it because I was equally as intrigued. I feel like a playlist with this track and that Elton John/Dua collab would be perfect for getting a party started. I told y’all earlier last year, disco-pop was on the rise, and it’s well and truly here by now.

We Made It – H.E.R: There’s a warm spot in my heart for H.E.R. Y’all heard the theories that she’s an industry plant? I mean, I don’t know… all I know is I love her music regardless. This song is so ethereal and it just lifts you so beautifully. It came on shuffle as I was driving down the beach on my way home from work, I’d just finished an evening shift and good old daylight savings came through and delivered a beautiful sunset, and this song just topped it all off.

Love Grows – Edison Lighthouse: Cheers to TikTok for this track. The trend that accompanied this song for a few days was so wholesome and sweet and before long I was finding myself singing along to it every time a video happened upon my FYP.

I hope you all had a beautiful end to 2021, and I hope the start of 2022 has been equally, if not more, than better for you. It was a rough year for us hey? I know it was a rough year for myself, but here’s hoping that 2022 brings us more.

x

Priya

PS:
Feel free to follow me on my social media!
Instagram: YouShouldHear
Twitter: YouShouldHear
Instagram: priya_francis (personal)
Spotify: priyafrancis

Leave a comment